Skip to content

English Speaking Country

For UK visa applications that require an English Language Test people from an English speaking country don’t have to take this test. Below is a list of countries regarded by the UKBA as majority English speaking.

When assessing your nationality, they will consider that the following are majority English-speaking countries:

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Australia
  • the Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Canada
  • Dominica
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • Jamaica
  • New Zealand
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • St Lucia
  • St Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • the United States of America

How will they confirm you are from an English Speaking Country?

The UKBA will confirm your nationality using your passport. If you are not a citizen from English speaking country listed above you will need to take the English language test required for your particular visa. If you are unsure what test is required contact our office.

UK Immigration Lawyers - Contact Us

Please select the most relevant inquiry type
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.